Leaving for Mayo Soon

Last week I wrote about the unexpected ways that God has blessed us. I would like to mention just one more thing that has happened recently.

Last week I received a phone call from my Jr. High Sunday School teacher saying he would be in Las Vegas and would like to stop by to chat and pray before I head to Mayo Clinic. He asked if it was alright if he had a friend along; a friend who had never seen the Grand Canyon and was taking the time to come with him so he could play tour guide. I said it would be great to catch up. When my teacher showed up on my door step yesterday, the friend that had accompanied him was also a friend of mine. “Ace” was a translator on the three mission trips I was on in Romania with For God’s Children International. The last time we saw each other was nearly thirteen years ago, but it was easy to recount the tales of the orphanages we visited, the people we worked with and the work that God did through us those many summers ago. “Ace’s” visit was yet another reminder of God’s sense of loving and caring. He sent someone half way around the world, just to stop by and say hello. Wow.

As I make final preparations to go see the good doctors at Mayo, I’m excited to know that within a few days we may know exactly what is affecting my body. I’m also a little scared that they won’t be able to find anything since answers have eluded us for months. Kayla reminded me last week that there are many people in the world that live with undiagnosed disease. I’m hoping that I’m not one of them. I was also reminded that although diagnosing my disease is a big deal to me, it may not be to the doctors, and certainly isn’t to God. While I wonder and worry about names and treatment plans, the doctors at Mayo are the professionals and have far more experience in this than I have. Some days it has been hard to remain positive, but I am confident that since God has provided the means for us to get to Mayo, that he will also provide the right answers to the right doctors while we are there.

Although I live with this confidence, I anticipate the next few days to be very hard, physically. I woke up yesterday with a sore throat that grew worse throughout the day. Now it is a full blown sinus infection. Usually these are not a big deal, but since I’ve been on immune suppressing drugs, they have really taken a toll and cannot be left alone. Everything hurts more and the swelling from the inflammation is amplified. Please pray that this infection does not allow something worse to settle in and that I get over it quickly.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

