God’s Blessings

Some time ago my mom told me that she had been praying that God would bless us in unique ways during my sickness. Here is a list of some of the things that God has done for us in the last year. Some of them are “simple” provision, others are more specific and tailored just for us. Here we go.

I have been on disability since the end of January and at every turn when we have needed money, we have received a check in the mail. Sometimes it’s just enough, other times it’s more than enough (which just means we’re going to need it later) but it has always covered our need. One of my favorite money provision stories came when we were celebrating Kayla’s birthday. We were going to a movie and she put a few quarters in the Wheel of Fortune game outside the movie theater. She won $108! Another time we received a chad in the mail from my mom. She had cleaned out her office and found birthday cards with cash in them, combined all the cash and sent it to us. God provides in ways we would never really think of.

Recently my brother started the ‘Jacksons for Joel’ campaign on Facebook. It is a way for people to donate to help us pay for my upcoming visit to the Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, AZ. It will cost us $3000 just to get in the door, and we anticipate paying a lot more than that before we’re done. My brother didn’t share with me that he was going to start this fundraising campaign, but was moved to do so when a member of his congregation asked what the church- with a capital ‘C’, not just their congregation- could do to help us out. I was extremely humbled and touched when I checked Facebook one morning and saw what Troy had done for us. I have been amazed by how God is moving people to give to us through ‘Jacksons for Joel’, some that are people that we don’t even know.

My personal favorite encouragement came in the form of an autographed cycling jersey. A former colleague of Kayla’s from the video department in the church is now working for a film company in Denver. They were filming a documentary of a new cycling team, and while on location in France, this colleague shared my story with one of the pro cyclists. The cyclist is know as one of the toughest in the pro peloton and has been dishing out the pain (and entertainment) for 16 years. I have loved watching him in the big races around the world, and when he heard my story, he pulled a jersey out of his bag, signed it and instructed that it get to me. It’s hanging in our home office and it’s message and the thoughtfulness of our friend touches me each time I see it. God’s delight in providing encouragement continued when I got to personally thank the pro at the Amgen Tour of California in Los Angeles.

Most importantly, God has put some really awesome people in our lives. These are people that have been with us through the hospital stays, discouraging test results and non-results, the bad days and the good days. We are so thankful to have such great family and friends to support us on journey through this new season of our lives. We look forward to seeing just how God will continue to encourage and provide for us.

1 Comment

  1. I’d like it to be noted that I’ve lived in Las Vegas for 11 years and I can honestly say I have gambled even less than 11 times. I generally only do it when family is in town (you guys know who you are!)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

